Select Page

For most of us, the main problem is to choose whether or not to drink alcohol. This is the reason for which products such as alcohol-free wine are born, to meet the needs of those who cannot consume drinks that contain alcohol. For others, however, the issue is closely linked to maintaining health; this is the case of those suffering from celiac disease, a disorder that creates issues and diseases when consuming foods containing gluten.

But what happens when we talk about wine? Is it possible to drink it even if you are intolerant to gluten? Today we take away the doubt once and for all and find out if red wine is gluten-free.

Red wine and gluten-free

Until a few decades ago, celiac disease was a little known disorder; today, however, gluten intolerance is widely studied and therefore it is common to find lists of foods that can be consumed. What about wines and spirits in this matter?

All the lovers of red wine (and not only) affected by celiac disease will be happy: while in the world of food it is very difficult to discern which ones can be consumed easily and those that contain gluten or are contaminated, in the field of wine the question is rather simple.

Because of its composition, but also because of its preparation process, wine is, in fact, gluten-free. The grapes with which it is produced are naturally gluten-free and its yeasts are not derived from wheat. For this reason, red wine, but also white and sparkling wine, can in principle be considered safe for consumption in a gluten-free diet.

What to pay attention to

Is it that simple? In a world where the real techniques of industrial production are often unbeknownst to us, can we be certain that the bottle of red wine is completely gluten-free?

As we said above, naturally produced wine contains no gluten. This factor remains unchanged unless wheat flour is used to preserve the barrels or dyes and aromatic substances containing gluten are added. The use in production of these elements cause contamination. When we talk about contamination we refer to minimal quantities of gluten, which in most cases of celiac disease do not involve particularly serious problems; however, it is always good to be careful, never underestimate the extent of the intolerance and consult with a doctor.

The advice we can give to be sure your red wine goes along with your intolerance are these:

  • always read the labels: as we saw in a previous article, wine labels are a fundamental element in the choice because they contain all the necessary information. Among these, by law must also be indicated if the product is gluten free.
  • buy your wines directly from the producer or from trusted sources (for example we personally select our wines, checking that they are produced naturally and do not contain additives harmful to health): in this way you will always be certain of the production methods of the wine you are about to consume.

A glass of gluten-free red wine

Now that you know everything about red wine and gluten-free, it’s time to celebrate with a good glass: browse a selection of top quality natural red wines in our online shop. Cheers!

Share This